Ten Field Hockey Players Earn Academic Honors

by Roger Wistar

Ten members of this year's field hockey team were named to the 2017 NFHCA High School National Academic Squad, with three earning special distinction.

Courtney Breen '18, Gracyn Campbell '18, Alisa Ghura '19, Amanda Hill '19, Abby Hillebrecht '19, Sarah Hurlock '19, Stephanie O'Brien '18, Olivia Parsons '18, Lindsay Reed '18, and Emma Smith '18 all received the honors this month from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

The award recognizes "those high school seniors and juniors who have achieved a minimum cumulative, unweighted GPA of 3.5 out of 4.0 or the equivalent through the first quarter of the 2017-18 school year," according to a release by the NHFCA.

Campbell, Hurlock, and Reed earned the additional honor of being named Scholars of Distinction, indicating a GPA of at least 3.9 out of 4.0.